A press conference was held in Toronto today to announce the nominees for the 2013 Juno Awards which will be held in Regina and Moose Jaw April 15-21. Leading the pack is B.C. born pop singer Carly Rae Jepsen with five nominations: JUNO Fan Choice, Single of the Year, Album of the Year, Artist of the Year and Pop Album of the Year.

Justin Bieber was next in line with four nominations: Album of the Year, JUNO Fan Choice, Artist of the Year and Pop Album of the Year.

Triple nominees include Leonard Cohen, Metric, Hedley and Marianas Trench. Also scoring three nominations were Saskatoon roots rockers The Sheepdogs (Single of the Year, Group of the Year and Rock Album of the Year).

Former Prairie Dog cover subjects The Pack A.D. scored one nomination for Breakthrough Group of the Year while Cold Specks, who was in town last August to perform as part of the Regina Folk Festival, was nominated in the Breakthrough Artist category.

You can find a complete list of nominees in all the categories here. A couple of weeks ago it was announced that Michael Bublé will host the Juno Gala that goes at Brandt Centre on April 21. Other artists who will be performing at the gala include Carly Rae Jepsen, Billy Talent and Marianas Trench, with additional acts to be named in the next few weeks. As well, dozens of groups will be in town to perform at Juno showcases that are being held at different venues April 19-20.

To play us out, here’s the video for the The Sheepdogs’ nominated single “The Way It Is”: