Crap Kingdom’s Not-Crap Soundtrack

ref=sr_1_1D.C. Pierson’s new novel, Crap Kingdom, is out now, but I haven’t been able to track down a copy. I’ve got a moderate hopes, though. The comedian and Derrick Comedy member held my interest with his last book, The Boy Who Couldn’t Sleep and Didn’t Have to. The premise for Crap Kingdom, his first teen novel, seems promising, too. Its description reads like a more lighthearted version of Lev Grossman’s The Magicians. Instead of the crippling ennui of Grossman’s take on a Narnia-esque tale, Pierson seems to be aiming for a funnier version, which I’m down for.

Even if the book’s a bust, its existence alone is contributing to my life with a soundtrack of all original music. You can download it for free, and I’d recommend it. Ted Leo sans Pharmacists is in fine form. Arguably, the Rosebuds track is as good as, or maybe even better than anything off their last proper LP, 2011’s Loud Planes Fly Low. Owen Ashworth, as Advanced Base, is still one of the great sad sacks out there. And the rest of the acts — the Ettes, Free Energy, Jean Grae, Matt Bennett and Sean Nelson — put forward good songs, too.

Author: James Brotheridge

Contributing Editor with Prairie Dog.