CFL Team Player Awards Announced

Kory SheetsThe Football Reporters of Canada have completed the first round of voting in the CFL player awards. There are six categories in total. For the Saskatchewan Roughriders the nominees are: Most Outstanding Player: running back Kory Sheets (pictured); Most Outstanding Canadian: receiver Chris Getzlaf; Most Outstanding Defensive Player: safety Tyron Brackenridge; Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman: guard Brendon LaBatte; Most Outstanding Rookie: special teams lineman Levi Steinhauer; Most Outstanding Special Teams Player: punter Ricky Schmitt.

You can find out who the nominees for the other seven teams are here. The finalists in the East and West Divisions will be announced on Nov. 7. The Gibson’s Finest CFL Player Awards will then be doled out at a gala ceremony at Conexus Arts Centre in Regina on Nov. 21 that will be emceed by comic Brent Butt and CFL analyst Glen Suitor. You can find out more about that event here.

A MESSAGE TO OUR READERS The coronavirus pandemic is a moment of reckoning for our community. We’re all hurting. It’s no different at Prairie Dog, where COVID-19 has wiped out advertisements for events, businesses and restaurants as Regina and Saskatchewan hunker down in quarantine. As an ad-supported newspaper already struggling in a destabilized media landscape, this is devastating. We’re hoping you, our loyal readers, can help fill in the gap so Prairie Dog can not only continue to exist but even expand our coverage — both in print and online. Please consider donating, either one-time or, even better, on a monthly basis.

We believe Prairie Dog's unique voice is needed, now more than ever. For 27 years, this newspaper has been a critical part of Regina’s social, cultural and democratic infrastructure. Don’t let us fade away. There’s only one Prairie Dog. If it’s destroyed, it’s never coming back.

Author: Gregory Beatty

Greg Beatty is a crime-fighting shapeshifter who hatched from a mutagenic egg many decades ago. He likes sunny days, puppies and antique shoes. His favourite colour is not visible to your inferior human eyes. He refuses to write a bio for this website and if that means Whitworth writes one for him, so be it.